IEEE ITS Institutional Lead Award


The IEEE ITS Institutional Lead Award is given annually for ITS researchers, practitioners, and research/development teams who have made significant contributions to research in ITS related fields (ITS Research Award), developed and deployed successful ITS systems or implementations (ITS Application Award), and demonstrated leadership in promoting ITS technologies (ITS Institutional Lead Award). These awards are established to recognize, promote, and publicize major research contribution, application innovations with real-world impact, and ITS institutional leadership.

Past Awardees:


2020  The Bourns College of Engineering, Center for Environmental Research & Technology (CE-CERT) - University of California, Riverside

Director: Matthew Barth

Citation: Contributions to Environmental Technologies to Improve Transportation, Air Quality, and Energy Efficiency

2019  Robesafe Lab, University of Alcalá

Director: Luis Miguel Bergasa

Citation: ...

2018  N/A

2017  TU Delft Automated Research Program

Director: Bart van Arem

Citation: For leading the development of connected and autonomous vehicles


2016  Petros Ioannou

Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC) systems


2015 LISA: Laboratory for Intelligent and Safe Automobiles

Director: Professor Mohan M. Trivedi


2014 Institute of Artificial Intelligence and Robotics

Xi’an Jiaotong University


2013  Chris Urmson

 Google Self-Driving Car Team, Google, USA


2012  Institute of Automotive Engineering, TU Darmstadt

Citation: For Institutional Leadership in Research and System Engineering for Advanced Driver Assistance and Safety.


2011  Dynamic Systems and Simulation Laboratory


The Technical University of Crete (TUC), Greece


2010 CAST (Complex Adaptive Systems for Transportation) Lab

Chinese Academy of Sciences


2009 NavLab, Carnegie Mellon University


2008 VisLab, Parma University, Italy


2007 PATH, University of California, Berkeley