IEEE ITS Outstanding Research Award


The IEEE ITS Outstanding Research Award is given annually for ITS researchers, practitioners, and research/development teams who have made significant contributions to research in ITS related fields (ITS Research Award), developed and deployed successful ITS systems or implementations (ITS Application Award), and demonstrated leadership in promoting ITS technologies (ITS Institutional Lead Award). These awards are established to recognize, promote, and publicize major research contribution, application innovations with real-world impact, and ITS institutional leadership.

Past Awardees:

2020  Kazuya Takeda

          Nagoya University

          Contributions to Data‐centric Driving Behavior Modeling


2019  Dariu Gavrila

          TU Delft


2018  N/A

2017  Azim Eskandarian

          Virginia Tech

          Contributions in Autonomous Systems and Intelligent Machines

2016  Matthew Barth

          University of California, Riverside,

          Contributions to Environmentally-Focused Intelligent Transportation Systems


2015  Ümit Özgüner

          The Ohio State University


2014  Nathan Gartner

University of Massachusetts Lowell


2013  Mohan Trivedi

University of California at San Diego, USA


2012  Petros Ioannou

University of Southern California

Citation: For Research Contributions in Advanced Vehicle Control Systems and Integration with traffic


2011  Fei-Yue Wang

CAST (Complex Adaptive Systems for Transportation) Lab, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing, China


2010  Sesbastian Thrun

Computer Science Department, Stanford University


2009  Pravin Varaiya


2008  Chelsea (Chip) C. White III


2007  Markos Papageorgiou


2006  Robert Fenton