IEEE ITS Outstanding Application Award


The IEEE ITS Outstanding Application Award is given annually for ITS researchers, practitioners, and research/development teams who have made significant contributions to research in ITS related fields (ITS Research Award), developed and deployed successful ITS systems or implementations (ITS Application Award), and demonstrated leadership in promoting ITS technologies (ITS Institutional Lead Award). These awards are established to recognize, promote, and publicize major research contribution, application innovations with real-world impact, and ITS institutional leadership.

Past Awardees:

2020  Contributions to the Development and Deployment of ADAS and Autonomous Driving Technologies

Matthias Schulze, Visteon Electronics

2019 N/A

2018  ​TRAMAN21 - For contributions in vehicle automation and communication systems and applications

 Markos Papageorgiou, Technical University of Crete

2016   KITTI Benchmark and Bertha Autonomous Vehicle

 Christoph Stiller, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology


2015   ACP-based Qingdao Parallel Urban Traffic Management and Control System

Team Leader: Fei-Yue Wang, The State Key Lab of Management and Control for Complex Systems at CASIA

Consortium: QAII, Qingdao Public Safety Bureau, CASIA, HiSense, NUDT, and Tsinghua University


2014  Uwe Franke & his team: Markus Enzweiler, Dariu Gavrila, Stefan Gehrig, Tilo Schwarz, and Fridtjof Stein, Daimler AG,

          Daimler Image Understanding Group


2013  Miguel Ángel Sotelo

          VISUALISE, University of Alcalá, SPAIN


2012  Wei-Bin Zhang

          California PATH Program, Institute of Transportation Studies, University of California at Berkeley

          Citation: For Contributions in Applications of  Advanced Vehicle Control and Safety Systems and Technologies

2011  DynaMIT (

          Intelligent Transportation Systems Program, Massachusetts Institute or Technology, USA

2010  Hani Mahmassani, William A. Patterson Distinguished Chair in Transportation, Northwestern University)

2009  Fei-Yue Wang

2008  Petros A. Ioannou

2007  Panos Michalopoulos