IEEE ITS Best Dissertation Award


The IEEE ITS Best Dissertation Award is given annually for the best dissertation in any ITS area that is innovative and relevant to practice. This award is established to encourage doctoral research that combines theory and practice, makes in-depth technical contributions, or is interdisciplinary in nature, having the potential to contribute to the ITSS and broaden the ITS topic areas from either the methodological or application perspectives.

Past Awardees:


First Prize:  Negar Mehr, University of California, Berkeley

Title: EffiSmart Traffic Operation: from Human-DrivenCars to Mixed Vehicle Autonomy

Advisor: ...

Second Prize:  Shuo Feng, Tsinghua University

Title: Testing Scenario Library Generation forConnected and Automated Vehicles

Advisor: ...

Third Prize:  Holger Banzhaf, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Title: Nonholonomic Motion Planning forAutomated Vehicles in Dense Scenarios

Advisor: ...


First Prize:  Cathy Wu, University of California, Berkeley

Title: Learning and Optimization for Mixed Autonomy Systems - A Mobility Context

Advisor: ...

Second Prize:  Woongsun Jeon, University of Minnesota

Title: Active Sensing and Estimation for Nonlinear Systems with Applications to Car-Bicycle Collision Prevention

Advisor: ...

Third Prize:  Yihang Zhang, University of Southern California

Title: Integrated Control of Traffic Flow

Advisor: ...


First Prize:  Anahita Jamshidnejad, Delft Center for Systems and Control, Delft University of Technology

Title: Efficient Predictive Model-Basd and Fuzzy Control for Green Urban Mobility

Advisor: Bart De Schutter

Second Prize:  Maria Kontorinaki, ...

Title: Advanced Nonlinear Control concepts for Freeway Traffic Network

Advisor: ...

Third Prize:  Nikola Bešinović, ...

Title: Integrated Capacity Assessment and Timetabling Models for Dense Railway Networks

Advisor: ...


First Prize:  Eshed Ohn-Bar, University of California, San Diego

Title: Contextual Visual Object Recognition and Behavior Modeling for Human-Robot Interactivity
Advisor: Mohan Trivedi


Second Prize:  Kun Xie, New York University

Title: New Opportunities in Urban Safety Analytics Using Advanced Quantitative Methods and Big Data

Advisor: Kaan Ozbay

Third Prize:  S. AliReza Fayazi, Clemson University

Title: Connected Vehicles at SignalizedI Intersections: Trafficsignal Timing Estimation and Optimization
Advisor: Ardalan Vahidi




First Prize:  José Ramón D. Frejo, University of Seville

Title: Model Predictive Control for Freeway Traffic Networks
Advisor: Eduardo F. Camacho


Second Prize:  Matthias Schreier, Technical University of Darmstadt

Title: Bayesian Environment Representation, Prediction, and Criticality Assessment for Driver Assistance Systems

Advisor: Jürgen Adamy


Second Prize:  Mohammad Shokrolah Shirazi, University of Nevada, Las Vegas

Title: Vision-Based Intersection Monitoring: Behavior Analysis & Safety Issues
Advisor: Brendan Morris




First Prize:  Mohsen Ramezani Ghalenoei, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

Title: Traffic Modeling Estimation and Control for Large-Scale Congested Urban Networks
Advisor: Nikolas Geroliminis


Second Prize:  Meng Wang, Delft University of Technology

Title: Generic Model Predictive Control Framework for Advanced Driver Assistance Systems

Advisor: Serge Hoogendoorn, Bart van Arem and Winnie Daamen


Third Prize:  Nanxiang Li, University of Texas, Dallas

Title: Modeling of Driver Behavior in Real World Scenarios Using Multiple Noninvasive Sensors
Advisor: Carlos Busso





First Prize:  Rahul Kala, Robotics and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory, Indian Institute of Information Technology, Allahabad, India

Title: Motion Planning for Multiple Autonomous Vehicles
Advisor: Prof. Kevin Warwick, University of Reading, UK


Second Prize:  Mehdi Keyvan-Ekbatani, Delft University of Technology, Netherlands

Title: Real-Time Urban Traffic Control under Saturated Traffic Conditions

Advisor: Markos Papageorgiou, Technical University of Crete, Greece

Third Prize:  Prashanth L.A., SEQUEL project, INRIA Lille – Nord Europe, France

Title: Resource Allocation for Sequential Decision Making under Uncertainty: Studies in Vehicular Traffic Control, Service Systems, Sensor Networks and Mechanism Design
Advisor: Shalabh Bhatnagar, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, India





First Prize:  Samah El-Tantawy, University of Toronto, Canada

Title: Multi-Agent Reinforcement Learning for Integrated Network of Adaptive Traffic Signal Controllers

Advisor: Prof. Baher Abduulhai


Second Prize:  Xiqun Chen, Tsinghua University, China

Title: Stochastic Evolutions of Dynamic Traffic Flow: Modeling and Application

Advisor: Prof. Qixin Shi/Li Li


Second Prize:  Manuel Fogue, University of Zaragoza, Spain

Title: Design and Evaluation of a Traffic Safety System based on Vehicular Networks for the Next Generation of Intelligent Vehicles

Advisor: Prof. Francisco J. Martinez/Piedad Garrido,





First Prize:  Markus Enzweiler, University of of Heidelberg

Title: Compound Models for Vision-Based Pedestrian Recognition

Advisor: Prof. Christoph Schnorr, Univ. of Heidelberg, and Prof. Dr. Dariu Gavrila, Universitat von Amsterdam


Second Prize:  Anna Petrovskaya, Stanford University, USA

Title: Towards Dependable Robotic Perception

Advisor: Prof. Oussama Khatib


Second Prize:  Anastasios Kouvelas, Technical University of Crete, Greece

Title: Adaptive Fine-Tuning for Large-Scale Nonlinear Traffic Control Systems

Advisor: Prof. Markos Papageorgiou





First Prize:  Dr. Daniel B. Work, University of California, Berkeley, USA

Title: Real-time estimation of distributed parameters systems: Application to traffic monitoring

Advisor: Alexandre M. Bayen


Second Prize:  Dr. Vicente Milanés, University of Alcalá, Madrid, Spain

Title: Traffic management system based on V2X communication using automated vehicles

Advisors: Carlos González, Miguel Ángel Sotelo





First Prize:  Dr. Brendan Morris, Computer Vision and Robotics Research Laboratory, University of California, San Diego, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering


Second Prize:  Dr. Thomas Paul Michalke, Institut für Regelungstheorie und Robotik, TU Darmstadt





First Prize:  Dr. Arne Kesting, TU Dresden

Title: Microscopic Modeling of Human and Automated Driving: Towards Traffic-Adaptive Cruise Control


Second Prize:  Dr. Verena Schmid, Vienna University

Title: Trucks in Movement: Hybridization of Exact Approaches and Variable Neighborhood Search for the Delivery of Ready-Mixed Concrete


Second Prize:  Dr. Andrea D’Ariano, TU Delft

Title: Improving Real-Time Train Dispatching: Models, Algorithms and Applications





First Prize:  Dr. Shinko Y. Cheng, University of California, San Diego

Title: A Multilevel Framework for Human Body Structure and Pose Estimation and Human Gesture Analysis Using Volumetric Scene Reconstructions with Applications in Driver Assistance Systems


Second Prize:  Dr. Caspar Chorus, TU Delft

Title: Traveler Response to Information





First Prize:  Dr. Thao Dang, Karlsruhe University

Title: Continuous Self-Calibration of Stereo Cameras


Second Prize:  Dr. Yiting Liu, Ohio State University

Title: Applications of Wireless Communication in Traffic Networks Using a Hierarchical Hybrid System Model





First Prize:  Dr. Shuming Tang, Chinese Academy of Sciences

Title: A Preliminary Study for Basic Approaches in Artificial Transportation Systems


Second Prize:  Dr. Jianlong Zhang, University of Southern California

Title: Practical Adaptive Control: Theory and Applications

IEEE ITS Society EXCOM/BOG Meeting Minutes (accessible by EXCOM/BOG members)